The 2023 FIFA Womens World Cup leads to mass amounts of celebration

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup leads to mass amounts of celebration

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is an International Soccer Championship held every four years, one year after the Men’s World Cup. The Men’s World Cup was introduced in 1930, while the Women’s World Cup was introduced sixty-one years later in 1991. Five national teams have won this tournament in the women’s division. The United States has won four times, the most of any team. Germany follows with three titles, and Japan, Spain, and Norway have one title each. 

This year was the ninth edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup. The tournament went from July 20th to August 20th in Australia and New Zealand. The game brings thirty-two teams worldwide together. The World Cup is a competition that celebrates diversity and unity from women worldwide. 

 Spain became champions after defeating England 1–0 in the final. It was Spain’s first title, winning the Women’s World Cup. Sweden gained their fourth bronze medal at the World Cup. Meanwhile, Australia accomplished their best placement ever, finishing in fourth place. 

Australia’s women’s team, nicknamed the Matildas, performed very well, which was different than previous years. In prior years, the Matildas could never make it to the Semi-Finals, yet in this World Cup, the co-hosts did! Despite not having their star player, Sam Kerr, they still performed very well in numerous games. Since Australia was the host of the tournament, many Australians united together to support them. We saw record numbers of fans watching the games when they beat France in the quarter-finals. Their 3-1 loss against England became the most-watched television broadcast in Australian history, and viewership peaked at 12 million viewers. The stadiums became packed for the tournament, with 75,784 people watching the stadium. 

Many new teams became introduced to the tournament, yet Morocco was the only team that advanced to the round of 16, where they lost to France 2-0. The U.S. National Team has many accomplishments, including four World Cup titles and is ranked third this year. They were two-time defending champions but had a painful loss in round 16. Sweden defeated them by a one-goal difference in penalties. It was the first time the States did not attend the tournament’s semi-finals. 

Many individual players also did very well. A player named Hinta Miyazawa from Japan won the Golden Boot, scoring five impressive goals throughout the competition. The Golden Boot is an award given to the game’s lead goal-scoring player. Another player named Aitana Bonmati from Spain became voted the best player. Aitana’s teammate Salma Paralluelo won the Young Player Award. Finally, the Golden Glove was in the hands of England’s goalkeeper Mary Earps. All of these players were remarkable, and all deserved to win. 

Ultimately, the 2023 Fifa Women’s World Cup was a thrilling competition that showed all of the passion each individual has for the sport. The love and talent come out on the pitch while they play for their beloved country. The tournament invited several teams worldwide and celebrates how far women’s soccer has come. It brought fans together from all different backgrounds and nations. It is still one of the most historic Women’s World Cups today.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover
About the Contributor
Adelaide Valeri
Adelaide Valeri, Features Reporter

Comments (0)

All Brush and Palette Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *